

Co-sponsors: Abney, Bell, Carlson, Kendall, Meyer, Murdy, Von Gemmingen, and Wuerch, Wohlforth Submitted by: Assemblymembers CLEMENTSON, TAYLOR Prepared by: Assembly Office For reading: July 21, 1998

ANCHORAGE, ALASKA AR NO. 98- 247

A RESOLUTION OF THE ANCHORAGE MUNICIPAL ASSEMBLY RECOGNIZING AND CONGRATULATING NUNAKA VALLEY EAST FOR WINNING THE STATE OF ALASKA DISTRICT 1 LITTLE LEAGUE CHAMPIONSHIP

WHEREAS, each year at this time, boys and girls in each state across the nation compete in Little League all-star baseball and softball tournaments; and

WHEREAS, in Alaska, District 1 Little League is one of the nation's largest Little League areas, encompassing Anchorage, Eagle River, Elmendorf AFB, Ft. Richardson, Palmer, Wasilla, Seward, Kenai, Soldotna, Homer, Valdez and Kodiak; and

WHEREAS, this year, Alaska's District 1 tournament for the 9 & 10 year old baseball division was hosted by Nunaka Valley Little League in East Anchorage from July 10 - 19, 1998; and

WHEREAS, of the seventeen teams in the double-elimination tournament, Nunaka Valley East completed the tournament undefeated in six games and won the State of Alaska District 1 Little League Championship - to include scoring six runs in the last inning of the championship game to win 10 - 9.

NOW, THEREFORE, the Anchorage Municipal Assembly recognizes and congratulates:

Nunaka Valley East

for winning the State of Alaska District 1 Little League Championship

John Breyer Richard Frye Ben Kelley Corbin Lykins Trenton Small Coach Tom Kelley Oran Cape Quinntez Gillespie Jonathan Koskela Jonathan Moyer Everett Vassar Coach Mike Lykins Frank Earhart Jared Holbrook Avery Larsen Nathan Ridley Manager Greg Moyer Mascot Joshua Moyer

PASSED and APPROVED by the Anchorage Assembly this ^{21st} day of July Fag Von Hemmingen . 1998. ATTEST: Municipal Clerk